Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Kansas Insurance Laws
Kansas Insurance Laws require all insurance companies in the state to have in their car insurance policies the following minimums:
Liability Coverage. It is divided into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability.
Bodily Injury Liability will cover the other person’s (whose injuries you are responsible for) medical bills, therapy costs, memorial service expenses and other costs specified in your policy. The protection offered by the coverage extends to family members who live with you and to other persons who were driving your car with your permission. Liability coverage also covers your legal expenses in case of a lawsuit.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
Property Damage Liability, on the other hand, will cover the damage caused to another’s property in a collision. It will cover the expenses for the repair, replacement, or cash equivalent of the property in case a replacement is not possible. Like Bodily Injury Liability Coverage, the coverage’s protection will also extend to family members and other persons driving your car with your authorization. Below is a breakdown of the minimums required by Kansas Insurance Laws for Liability Coverage.
$25,000/person for bodily injury
$50,000/accident for bodily injury
$10,000/accident for property damage
Personal Injury Protection. PIP or No-fault will cover for your medical bills, therapy costs, memorial service expenses, lost wages, and in-home help. Your passengers, who were harmed in the collision, will also be covered with the same benefits as you. The PIP coverage holds, regardless of who is at fault. If the passengers involved in the accident own their own insured motor vehicles, they can collect under their own auto policies. Below is a breakdown of the minimums required by Kansas Insurance Laws for Personal Injury Protection.
- Minimum amount required by law:
• $4,500/person for medical expenses
• $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
• $25/day for in-home services
• $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
• $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
- Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
- In-home services up to $25/day for one year
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. UM/UIM coverage will pay for both you and your passengers’ medical bills, therapy costs, and memorial service expenses if you get involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. Now, if the other motorist involved is underinsured this coverage will pay for the difference between the total expenses owed (medical bills, etc.) and the maximum limit of the underinsured’s policy. This will also cover the expenses of lawsuits ensuing from the accident caused by an uninsured, underinsured driver or a hit-and-run motorist. You and household members are also protected as pedestrians. Below is a breakdown of the minimums required by Kansas Insurance Laws for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Be sure to ask your insurance agent about Kansas insurance laws and what your auto policy currently covers. You may ask him what “full coverage” is to see all the offered coverages. You can start from there and pick those that you need. The table below will give you a good summary of the essential insurance regulations in the state.
|Kansas Insurance Laws|
|Jurisdiction||Modified Comparative Fault -- 50 Percent Bar|
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$25,000|
|Bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$50,000|
|Property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||Yes|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||2 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||2 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$4,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432