Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Nevada Insurance Laws
Nevada Insurance laws require its motorists to have with them an auto insurance policy provided by the state’s recognized insurance companies. Vehicle owners or business establishments who own more than ten vehicles can choose to self-insure all their vehicles. For the details on the fleet registration and the self-insurance of their vehicles, they may refer to Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 485. In Nevada, insurance is not required on off-highway vehicles and on non-registered non-operational vehicles.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
The minimum insurance requirements are detailed below.
Liability Coverage Minimums mandated by Nevada State Law
* as per Nevada Rev. Stat. 485.185
- $15,000 as coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in any single accident for a total of $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any single accident
- $10,000 property damage in any single accident
Nevada Insurance laws require only meager coverage for motorists in the state. Most authorities in the field of insurance agree that the state minimums are not enough to sufficiently protect a motorist from damages he might incur from an accident later on. This is the case not just in Nevada, but in the whole of the United States of America, especially in states who adapt the Tort system. With Nevada’s insurance minimums, you will only be protected up to $10,000 for property damage. But take note that most of today’s motor vehicles cost far more than $10,000. Anything more than that and you will have to pay out of your own pocket.
Talk with your agent and see how much an increase in your insurance coverage will cost you in your premium. Insurance experts may even insist that $1 million as coverage for property damage is just about enough. You might be surprised to know that increasing your coverage will only cost you far less than what you expect.
Nevada Insurance laws require vehicle owners to have with them always their proof of insurance when driving in the state’s roadways. Proof of insurance is your insurance card indicating that you carry liability coverage that is at least that required by the state of Nevada. This is especially important in the event of an accident or when pulled over by an officer for unsafe driving practices. In these situations you will be asked to provide insurance information and the likes. Proof of insurance can also be a signed declaration stipulating that the vehicle owner will maintain the mandatory insurance coverage while the motor vehicle is registered in Nevada.
Failure to provide evidence of insurance upon request by an authority is considered a misdemeanor. In Nevada, sanctions to this traffic offense include paying a fine ranging from $600 to $1000, suspension of driver’s license, suspension of vehicle reqistration and a misdemeanor conviction.
Nevada insurance laws do not provide a grace period. A one day lapse in the auto insurance coverage may result to the suspension of the vehicle registration. The offender will have to pay a fee of $250 to reinstate his registration privileges.
|Nevada Insurance Laws|
Modified ComparativeFault -- 51 Percent Bar
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$15,000|
|bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$30,000|
|property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||No|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||2 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||3 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum LimitS||$5,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432