Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Oregon Insurance Laws
Oregon Insurance laws, ORS 806.010, require you to carry Bodily Injury Liability coverage, Property Damage Liability coverage, Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured Motorist Coverage on all of your vehicles that you drive.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
In Oregon, you are required to present proof of insurance when you get involved in an auto accident. Typically, your insurance card issued by your insurance provider is enough. This will serve as an attestation that you are capable of covering for the damages you caused the other party up to a certain limit.
The minimum liability insurance coverages mandated by the state are as follows.
Minimum Liability Coverage Requirement
- Bodily Injury Coverage
$25,000 per person in any single accident
$50,000 combined bodily injury coverage to others per any single accident
- Property Damage Coverage
$10,000 per any single accident for damage to the property of others
Other coverages mandated by Oregon Insurance Laws are detailed below.
Personal Injury Protection
This will pay for the “reasonable and necessary” medical and dental expenditures of the insured that resulted from the accident.
- $15,000 per person
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
This will pay for the insured’s medical and dental expenditures that resulted from an accident with a driver that has no insurance coverage.
- $25,000 per person in any single accident
- $50,000 combined bodily injury coverage to others per any single accident
In Oregon, you are required to carry proof of insurance signifying that you are protected at least by the amount specified above. Also, you are required to present the said proof when registering or renewing your vehicle. In addition, you are required to provide a statement saying that you will observe the insurance laws of the state provided that the vehicle is registered under your name, throughout the period of the permit.
Driving without insurance is an offense against the state. The sanctions for this include fines, suspension of driver’s license and impoundment of your auto. You are required to pay for towing and storage fees once your vehicle gets towed. This of course is different from the fines you are required to pay.
If convicted with “driving without insurance”, you need to file a Proof of Future Responsibility with the Department of Motor Vehicles of the state of Oregon for 3 years. Failure to do so might result to the suspension of your driving privileges. Still after this, you have fines to pay. Proof of Future Responsibility, by the way, is the form SR-22 issued by the DMV.
If you get involved in an auto accident while driving without insurance, your driving privileges will automatically be suspended for one whole year. To reinstate your driving privileges, you have to file a Proof of Future Responsibility (SR-22) with the Oregon DMV for three years but only after the one year of suspension has ended. Your driving privileges will remain suspended unless you do as said.
Some vehicles are exempted from carrying the minimum insurance mandated in Oregon Insurance Laws. Refer to the section on ORS 806.020 for the list of exemptions.
|Oregon Insurance Laws|
Modified Comparative Fault -- 51 Percent Bar
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$25,000|
|bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$50,000|
|property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||Yes|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||10 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||10 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$5,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432