Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Virginia Insurance Laws
Virginia Insurance laws require you to provide evidence that you satisfy the minimum insurance requirements of the state. Accordingly, you should always keep in your vehicle your insurance card or any other proof of insurance you have.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
Virginia presently requires minimum bodily liability coverage of $25,000 per damaged party up to a total of $50,000 per occurrence, and minimum property damage liability coverage of $20,000 per occurrence. This state insurance standard is commonly known as the 25/50/20 coverage.
The state minimums only provide minimal protection. It is recommended that you purchase a liability insurance policy of a higher amount and a higher coverage. Remember, liability coverage will only cover the damages YOU caused ANOTHER up to the limits of your auto policy.
You can purchase a Collision and Comprehensive coverage to add to your present auto insurance policy. These put together will adeptly cover you from an unfortunate accident. You might be surprised to know that it will only cost you a small amount of money to get more coverage.
Virginia Insurance Laws like the Financial Responsibility Law requires all owners to have their vehicles insured at all times to be able to drive legally through the state. The FR law is imposed to ensure that all drivers who are liable for an accident in Virginia are able to shoulder the losses they cause.
If you get in an accident where you are the one deemed responsible and you carry inadequate insurance coverages, there is a great possibility that the damaged party will take legal action and go after your assets.
By Virginia Insurance laws, failure to carry auto insurance is an offense against the state. The offender will be faced with a fine of at least $500 plus an additional $30 as reinstatement fee. Your driving privileges and vehicle registration could also be suspended. On top of that, you also have to file an SR-22 for a minimum of three years.
State regulations specify the following as the insurance minimums an insurance provider is to write a resident of Virginia.
Compulsory Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage
- $25,000 as compensation for the Bodily Injury or Death of a person in a single accident
- $50,000 as compensation for the Bodily Injury or Death of multiple persons in a single accident
- $20,000 as coverage for the Property Damage in any single accident
Compulsory Minimum Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage
- $25,000 as coverage for the Bodily Injury or Death of a person (you or each passenger) in a single accident
- $50,000 as coverage for the Bodily Injury or Death of multiple persons (you and/or the passengers) in a single accident
- $20,000 as coverage for Property Damage (to your vehicle) in any single accident
Virginia Insurance laws permit consumers to go uninsured so long as they pay an annual fee of $500. This is a very risky route because you are left unprotected from an accident and from being sued for damages. Although Virginia allows for this, opting for this route is highly discouraged.
|Virginia Insurance Laws|
Pure Contributory Negligence
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$25,000|
|bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$50,000|
|property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$20,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||Yes|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||2 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||5 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$5,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432