Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Wisconsin Insurance Laws
Like every other state in the country, Wisconsin has its own set of auto insurance standards. Wisconsin requires all its residents to purchase Uninsured Motorist coverage in addition to the Liability Insurance coverage they carry for their motor vehicle.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
Uninsured Motorist coverage provides compensations for losses incurred by the insured from being involved in an accident with a driver who is in violation of the Wisconsin Insurance laws – that is, a driver who does not carry auto liability insurance at all.
Without Uninsured Motorist coverage, a damaged party will have to pay for his own losses with his own money in the event of an accident with an uninsured. The losses usually incurred in an accident amount to thousands of dollars. Such losses include medical bills and visitation fees. Now if the at-fault uninsured driver has assets, the damaged party can go after these to recoup his losses.
The auto insurance coverages a Wisconsin resident must carry should have at least the following limits.
Compulsory Auto Insurance Coverages and their Corresponding Limits
Liability Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Coverage
At least $25,000 per person injured in a single occurrence and $50,000 for all persons injured in a single occurrence
- Property Damage Coverage
At least $10,000 for damages to or destruction of the property of others in a single occurrence
Required Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage
$25,000 per person injured in a single occurrence and $50,000 for all persons injured in a single occurrence. UM coverage must also contain a minimum of $1,000 for medical expenditures.
Optional Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage
In Wisconsin if the policyholder chooses to include UIM in his auto policy, the UIM coverage should be at least $50,000 per person injured in a single occurrence for a total of $100,000 for all persons injured in a single occurrence.
The state law requires Wisconsin motorists to present proof of insurance at traffic stops and at auto collisions. Proof of insurance is mandatory for all motor vehicles. If you fail to comply with this, you will be subjected to penalty regardless of whether you got into an accident or not.
By Wisconsin Insurance laws, motor vehicle operation without auto insurance will warrant the driver a fine of up to $500. Not being able to present proof of insurance even when adequately insured is still considered is a traffic infraction. Failure to present proof of insurance at the scene but being able to present proof within a specified grace time warrants the offender a fine of up to $10. Presenting a proof of insurance that is later discovered to be fraudulent will warrant the offender a fine of up to $5,000.
According to Wisconsin Insurance laws, you are not required to present proof of insurance when applying for a driver’s license and when registering your motor vehicle unless when the said proof is specifically requested by the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles. Proof of Insurance is only required when you apply for the reinstatement of your driving privileges after it was suspended or revoked.
|Wisconsin Insurance Laws|
Modified Comparative Fault -- 51 Percent Bar
|Liability Insurance required?||No|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$25,000|
|bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$50,000|
|property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||Yes|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||3 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||6 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$5,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432