Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Arizona Accident Law
Arizona accident law use the term “Damages” to pertain to the financial compensation awarded to a damaged party who was injured in an auto collision with another driver deemed responsible for the accident. It is this amount that lawyers and insurance providers fight for in order to ascertain the monetary value to be awarded as compensation for losses. Both the prosecution and the defense should be up-to-date on the accident laws of the state in order for them to know which damages can be compensated for.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
Most of the time, parties who are involved in a vehicular accident in Arizona choose to settle out of court. Both parties, with the help of their respective lawyers, usually come to an agreement outside of the courtroom. If this is the case, the insurance provider and the lawyer will have to work hand in hand to come to a reasonable settlement amount.
If this is not the case, then a jury in a court of law will have to decide how much monetary compensation will be awarded.
The Arizona accident law sets no limit on the maximum amount a damaged party can collect, whom they can sue and how much a jury can award. This can be quite controversial especially when non-economic damages are taken into consideration.
Non-economic damages include loss of companionship, pain and suffering, mental discomfort and the likes.
States have different statute of limitations for different situations. One of the worse, if not the worst, mistake you can make is to let the statute for filing pass before taking any legal action. Arizona’s statute of limitations and their corresponding applicable situations are detailed below.
For regular vehicular accidents, that is a collision with non-government vehicles, there is a statute of limitations of two years.
For vehicular accidents with an uninsured or underinsured driver, there is a statute of limitations of three years.
For vehicular accidents with government-owned or public entity vehicles (e.g. police cars), you are given six months to serve your claim to the appropriate government body and then a year to file a case against the said government body.
If you get into an accident while on the job, your worker’s compensation will take into effect. You then have a year to have your worker’s compensation claim reassigned to your personal injury claim, else you will have to file a lawsuit within a year from the date of the loss.
For vehicular accidents involving a minor, the statute of limitations for the minor will be two years from his 18th birthday. He can only pursue his own personal injury when he has reached 18 years of age. However, the parents are entitled to a claim for the minor’s medical bills and their claim is subject to a statute of limitations of two years from the date the minor’s injury was first discovered.
If you are involved in a vehicular accident in the state, it is in your best interest to seek legal advice from an experienced lawyer in your area who can help you through the complexities of the Arizona accident law.
|Arizona Accident Law|
|Jurisdiction||Pure Comparative Fault|
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident||15,000|
|bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident||$30,000|
|property damage liability maximum for one accident||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||No|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||2 years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||2 years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$2,500|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432