Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Car rental coverage
by John Walters
(Fort Worth, Texas)
I only have liability on my truck. The other person was at fault and totaled my truck.
Her insurance company is renting me a car but i have to pay $20.00 per day insurance on it. It has been 20 days and I have not received a check yet. They say they are not required to pay insurance for me. I think this is a lie. What is the Texas law on them paying for what i am out because of their client?
I am sorry to hear about this. This is one of the most frustrating aspects of car accidents. Some states require the insurance companies to pay for the extra insurance others do not.
The states that do not argue that this is your responsibility because it is a cost that you would of have anyway (you are supposed to have insurance on the truck). As you outlined, you could have liability insurance and not collision, but the rental company will require you to pay for the collision insurance, which is very high $20 per day).
Do they owe for this. The answer depends on your states. Please visit the Texas department of insurance and contact them directly. They will be able to give you a straight answer. Here is their website:
I hope this helps some. Do know that even if the state does not "allow" recovery for this, it is likely that a judge awards you this expense in small claim if you decide to go that rout. To learn more about small claims, visit:
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Got Questions?.
Please see more answers to recent personal injury and auto accident questions below:
For a Free Review of Your Case