Ask an Attorney a Question for FREE!
Georgia Insurance Laws
Georgia Insurance Laws require its drivers to carry auto policies that have, at the very least, Liability Coverage. The state of Georgia mandates that the Liability Insurance have the following minimums:
- bodily injury protection of $25,000 per person and a total of $50,000 per accident, and
- property damage coverage of $25,000.
- Liability Coverage. This is a required auto insurance coverage, according to Georgia Insurance Laws. This will cover for bodily injury incurred by another person in the accident. This will also cover for property damage caused by the insured’s negligence. Liability Coverage protects not only the insured but also any member of his family living with him who was driving the vehicle with his permission. In the event of a lawsuit being filed, liability coverage will cover for the legal defense. This particular coverage is divided into two separate insurance coverages:
- Bodily Injury (BI) Coverage. This covers for the expenses owing to the injury or death of a pedestrian(s) or passenger(s)/driver of the other vehicle involved in the accident. It will also pay for injury expenses incurred by the insured’s passengers as long as they are not family members who are sharing the same roof. Georgia Insurance Laws requires BI limits of at least $25,000 per person per accident for a total of $50,000 per accident.
- Property Damage (PD) Coverage. This will cover for the expenses due to damages to another person’s property. Such property could be the vehicle, fences, building, etc. Georgia Insurance Laws requires a Property Damage liability minimum of $25,000 per accident.
Note: It is important to consider buying higher coverage limits than those required by the state. The minimums mandated by state insurance laws may not be enough to cover for all the damages and thus will not protect you fully from lawsuits.
Ask a Lawyer Now!
Today’s vehicles average more than $25,000. Also, medical bills today are quite expensive and it is so easy for the medical expenses to exceed $25,000 per person. Being properly insured will protect your interests and save you the trouble of being sued in court.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance (UM/UIM). Although Georgia Insurance Laws do not require this particular coverage, it is best that you consider purchasing this as well. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage pays for the bodily injury you incurred due to an accident with an uninsured motorist. This will also cover for your bodily injury expenses caused by hit-and-run.
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance will pay for the difference in your UIM coverage limits and the liability limits of a poorly insured at-fault driver. A poorly insured at-fault driver is one whose liability coverage limits cannot pay for your entire medical expenses.
Georgia insurance laws can be different from the insurance regulations of other states in the U.S. The table below will give you a good summary of the essential insurance regulations in Georgia.
|Georgia Accident Law|
|Jurisdiction||Modified Comparative Fault -- 50 Percent Bar|
|Liability Insurance required?||Yes|
|Personal injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.||$25,000|
|Bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.||$50,000|
|Property damage liability maximum for one accident.||$25,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage required?||No|
|Bodily Injury Statue Of limitations||2 Years|
|Property Damage Statute of Limitation||4 Years|
|Small Claims Court Maximum Limit||$15,000|
Back to all 50 states insurance laws and regulations.
For a Free Review of Your Case
Please Call (866) 878-2432